European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.
European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.

OMV Aktiengesellschaft

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Decision Date Action Validity Date Maximum Validity
A- Outlook NEG 07.03.2022 09.03.2022
A- Outlook STA 27.09.2021 29.09.2021
A- Outlook STA 21.12.2020 23.12.2020
A Outlook STA 17.08.2018 24.08.2018

News

  • 09.03.2022
    Creditreform Rating has revised the outlook for the corporate issuer rating of OMV AG and changed it to negative from stable. The main reason behind this decision are the expected negative value adjustments and probable overall negative effects on the OMV's activities in connection with the current geopolitical tensions arising from Russia-Ukraine conflict. Creditreform Rating affirms the rating at A-, but expects a deterioration of the financial metrics in the financial year 2022. Creditreform Rating has also changed the outlook of the A- unsolicited corporate issue rating of the long-term local currency senior unsecured notes issued by OMV AG to negative from stable. These issues are included in the list of ECB-eligible marketable assets, which can be found on the ECB's website. For more details regarding the ratings, please refer to our press release below.
  • 29.09.2021
    Creditreform Rating has confirmed the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of OMV AG at A-. The outlook remains stable. The result of the key financial figure analysis for the 2020 financial year, which was characterized by the negative effects of the COVID-19 induced crisis and the takeover and full consolidation of Borealis AG, remained in line with our expectations. The company was able, inter alia through the implementation of cost-cutting measures, to generate a relatively solid operating cash flow. These measures were accompanied by a moderate investment and dividend policy. The development in the 2021 financial year shows, against the background of the globally stabilizing markets and prices for energy sources and oil products, a significant improvement in the sales and earnings as well as the operating cash flow of the company. The partly already implemented measures for debt relief through disposal of assets, which are no longer the focus of the corporate strategy, are expected to support a further financial ratios improvement in the medium term. The corporate strategy, which aims to deepen the added value through petrochemicals and the development of new, low-carbon and carbon-free product areas, combined with management commitment of maintaining solid financial figures, contributes to our rating assessment. Based on the solid stand-alone rating, the relative proximity to the state has a positive effect on the rating. We assume a certain likelihood of financial support for OMV from the Republic of Austria in an event of a crisis.
  • 23.12.2020
    Creditreform Rating has downgraded the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of OMV AG from A to A-. The outlook remains stable. With the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of A-, OMV AG possess a high level of creditwothiness and a lower risk of default. Building on a solid stand-alone rating, the relative proximity to the Austrian state has a slightly positive effect on the rating. We assume a certain likelihood of financial support for OMV from the Republic of Austria in an event of a crisis. Based on the business development in 2020, which will be impacted on one hand by lower oil and gas prices but also by impairments, we assume a deterioration in the results of the 2020 financial key figure analysis. Overall, this, together with a deteriorated medium to long-term assessment of the business model, which remains heavily dependent on fossil fuels, leads to a downgrade of 1 notch to A-. The one-year outlook for the rating is stable. We presume that with assumed progress towards a sustainable containment of the COVID-19 pandemic and an economic recovery in 2021, oil and gas prices and the demand for crude oil derivatives will improve as a result.
  • 24.08.2018
    Creditreform Rating has carried out an unsolicited rating of OMV Aktiengesellschaft. The rating has been set to A with stable outlook.

Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.
Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.

OMV Aktiengesellschaft

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Erstellung Veröffentlichung Max. Gültig Bis
A- Outlook NEG 07.03.2022 09.03.2022
A- Outlook STA 27.09.2021 29.09.2021
A- Outlook STA 21.12.2020 23.12.2020
A Outlook STA 17.08.2018 24.08.2018

News

  • 09.03.2022
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der OMV AG mit einem negativen Ausblick versehen. Maßgeblich für diese Entscheidung sind die erwarteten Wertberichtigungen sowie allgemeine negative Auswirkungen geopolitischer Spannungen in Verbindung mit dem Russland-Ukraine-Konflikt auf die Geschäftslage des OMV Konzerns. Creditreform Rating hat das Rating der OMV AG mit A- bestätigt, erwartet allerdings eine Verschlechterung der Finanzkennzahlen im Geschäftsjahr 2022. Zudem hat Creditreform Rating das unbeauftragte Corporate Issue Rating von A- für die in EUR denominierten Long-Term Senior Unsecured Issues der OMV AG mit einem negativen Ausblick versehen. Die Schuldverschreibungen sind in der Liste der EZB-zulässigen, marktfähigen Assets aufgeführt, die auf der Internetseite der Europäischen Zentralbank erhältlich ist. Weitere Einzelheiten zu den Ratings finden Sie in unserer nachstehenden Pressemitteilung.
  • 29.09.2021
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der OMV AG mit A- bestätigt. Der Ausblick bleibt stabil. Das Ergebnis der Finanzkennzahlenanalyse für das Geschäftsjahr 2020, das durch negative Effekte der COVID-19 induzierten Krise und durch die Übernahme und Vollkonsolidierung der Borealis AG gekennzeichnet war, blieben im Rahmen unserer Erwartungen. Das Unternehmen konnte, u.a. durch eingeführte Kostensenkungsmaßnahmen, einen verhältnismäßig soliden operativen Cashflow erwirtschaften. Diese Maßnahmen gingen mit einer kontrollierten Investitions- und Ausschüttungspolitik einher. Die Entwicklung im Geschäftsjahr 2021 zeigt, vor dem Hintergrund der sich weltweit stabilisierenden Märkte und Preise für Energieträger und Ölprodukte, eine deutliche Verbesserung der Umsatz- und Ertragslage und des operativen Cashflows. Die bereits ergriffenen und noch geplanten Maßnahmen zur Entschuldung und zur Portfoliooptimierung mittels Veräußerung nicht mehr im Fokus der Unternehmensstrategie stehenden Bereiche sollen eine weitere Verbesserung der Bilanzrelationen mittelfristig unterstützen. Die Unternehmensstrategie, die auf die Vertiefung der Wertschöpfung durch Petrochemie sowie durch Erschließung neuer, CO2-arme und CO2-freie Produktbereiche abzielt, mit gleichzeitiger Verpflichtung zur Aufrechterhaltung solider Finanzkennzahlen, trägt zu unserer Ratingeinschätzung bei. Aufbauend auf dem soliden Stand-Alone Rating wirkt sich die relative Staatsnähe positiv auf das Rating aus. Wir nehmen dabei eine gewisse Wahrscheinlichkeit hinsichtlich einer finanziellen Unterstützung der OMV durch die Republik Österreich im Krisenfall an.
  • 23.12.2020
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der OMV AG von A auf A- angepasst. Der Ausblick bleibt stabil. Mit dem vorliegenden unsolicited Corporate Issuer Rating wird der OMV AG eine hohe Bonität und ein geringeres Ausfallrisiko attestiert. Aufbauend auf einem soliden Stand-Alone Rating wirkt sich die relative Staatsnähe leicht positiv auf das Rating aus. Wir nehmen dabei eine gewisse Wahrscheinlichkeit hinsichtlich einer finanziellen Unterstützung der OMV durch die Republik Österreich im Krisenfall an. Auf Basis der Geschäftsentwicklung 2020, die zum einen von niedrigeren Öl- und Gaspreisen aber auch durch Wertberichtigungen belastet wird, gehen wir von einer Verschlechterung der Ergebnisse der Finanzkennzahlenanalyse 2020 aus. Insgesamt führt dies, zusammen mit einer verschlechterten mittel- bis langfristigen Einschätzung zum Geschäftsmodell, das stark von fossilen Energieträgern abhängig bleibt, zu einem Downgrade von 1 Notch auf A-. Der einjährige Ausblick für das Rating ist stabil. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich mit angenommenen Fortschritten hinsichtlich einer nachhaltigen Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie und einer konjunkturellen Erholung in 2021, in der Folge auch die Öl- und Gaspreise sowie die Nachfrage nach Rohölderivaten verbessern.
  • 24.08.2018
    Creditreform Rating hat ein unbeauftragtes Rating über die OMV Aktiengesellschaft erstellt und auf A festgelegt. Der Ausblick ist stabil.