European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.
European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.

TotalEnergies SE

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Decision Date Action Validity Date Maximum Validity
A+ Outlook STA 04.05.2021 07.05.2021
AA- Outlook NEG 07.04.2020 14.04.2020
AA- Outlook STA 07.11.2019 15.11.2019

News

  • 07.05.2021
    Creditreform Rating has adjusted the unsolicited corporate issuer ratings of Total SE from AA- to A+. The outlook has been revised from negative to stable. The most important factors that led to this rating adjustment were the impaired business performance of the Company in 2020, which was impacted by lower oil and gas prices due to controversies within OPEC+, as well as the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the resulting significant deterioration in the outcome of the key financial ratios analysis. Macroeconomic developments, which reflected a decline in demand for oil and gas, led to a reduction in production, as well as an impairment effect, and thus significantly burdened the Group's operating business. We assume that, with progress towards a sustainable containment of the COVID-19 pandemic, and an economic recovery in 2021 and 2022, oil and gas prices as well as demand will improve. This in turn should improve both sales - with a higher capacity utilization of the production facilities - profit margins, and thus lead to positive annual results again. The Total Group's improved business performance in the first quarter of 2021 supports our assessment of a stable outlook.

    At the ordinary and extraordinary shareholders´ meeting on May 28, 2021, the shareholders decided to rename Total SE to TotalEnergies SE. The current rating of the former Total SE will be continued under the name TotalEnergies SE by Creditreform Rating AG.
  • 14.04.2020
    Creditreform Rating has revised the outlook for the corporate issuer rating of Total S.A. and changed it to negative from stable. The main reasons behind this decision are the drop in oil prices combined with the decline in refining margins, as well as the overall economic and social implications of the coronavirus pandemic, with a looming global economic slowdown. Creditreform Rating affirms the rating at AA-, but expects a deterioration of the financial metrics of Total if these effects persist.
  • 15.11.2019
    Creditreform Rating has carried out an unsolicited rating of Total S.A. The rating has been set to AA- with stable outlook. The current rating of AA- attests Total S.A. a very high level of creditworthiness, which represents a low default risk. The rating result of Total S.A. reflects its large size, stable market position, sustainably strong earnings capacity, sound investment and financial policies, as well as its solid liquidity. The Company´s activities comprise the upstream and downstream businesses and are geographically very well-diversified, whereby the processing facilities and distribution of petroleum products are chiefly concentrated in Europe. In the 2018 financial year, as well as in 2019, the Group managed to significantly increase its production based on a range of new projects and start-ups in the Exploration & Production segment, while focusing on maintaining a solid pre-dividend breakeven. The downstream activities Refining & Chemicals and Marketing & Services contribute to the positive results, generating additional cash flows and helping to offset negative developments in crude oil and natural gas prices. The Company has been preparing to the global shift in energy mix and expanding into relatively new businesses, such as low carbon electricity generation, energy efficiency projects and especially LNG.

Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.
Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.

TotalEnergies SE

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Erstellung Veröffentlichung Max. Gültig Bis
A+ Outlook STA 19.05.2022 24.05.2022
A+ Outlook STA 04.05.2021 07.05.2021
AA- Outlook NEG 07.04.2020 14.04.2020
AA- Outlook STA 07.11.2019 15.11.2019

News

  • 24.05.2022
    Creditreform Rating hat unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Ratings der TotalEnergies SE und der TotalEnergies Capital S.A. sowie der TotalEnergies Capital International S.A. mit A+ bestätigt. Zudem hat Creditreform Rating unbeauftragte Corporate Issue Ratings für die in EUR denominierten Long-Term Senior Unsecured Issues der TotalEnergies Capital S.A. sowie der TotalEnergies Capital International S.A. ebenfalls mit A+ bestätigt. Die Schuldverschreibungen sind in der Liste der EZB-zulässigen, marktfähigen Assets aufgeführt, die auf der Internetseite der Europäischen Zentralbank erhältlich ist. Der Ausblick für die Ratings bleibt stabil. Weitere Einzelheiten zu den Ratings finden Sie in unserem nachstehenden Ratingbericht.
  • 07.05.2021
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der Total SE von AA- auf A+ angepasst. Der Ausblick wurde von negativ auf stabil revidiert. Wesentlich für die Ratinganpassung waren die beeinträchtigte Geschäftsentwicklung des Unternehmens im Jahr 2020, die durch niedrigere Öl- und Gaspreise aufgrund von Kontroversen innerhalb der OPEC+ sowie durch die Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie beeinflusst wurde und die daraus resultierende signifikante Verschlechterung des Ergebnisses der Analyse der wichtigsten Finanzkennzahlen. Makroökonomischen Entwicklungen, die einen Rückgang der Nachfrage nach Öl und Gas widerspiegelten, führten zu einer Verringerung der Produktion sowie zu einem Wertminderungseffekt und belasteten damit das operative Geschäft des Konzerns erheblich. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich mit den Fortschritten hinsichtlich einer nachhaltigen Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie und einer wirtschaftlichen Erholung in den Jahren 2021 und 2022 die Öl- und Gaspreise sowie die Nachfrage verbessern werden. Dies wiederum sollte sowohl den Umsatz als auch - bei einer höheren Kapazitätsauslastung der Produktionsanlagen - die Gewinnmargen verbessern und somit zu wieder positiven Jahresergebnissen führen. Die verbesserte Geschäftsentwicklung der Total Group im ersten Quartal 2021 stützt unsere Einschätzung eines stabilen Ausblicks.

    Auf der ordentlichen und außerordentlichen Hauptversammlung haben die Aktionäre am 28. Mai 2021 beschlossen, Total SE in TotalEnergies SE umzubenennen. Das aktuelle Rating der ehemaligen Total SE wird unter dem Firmennamen TotalEnergies SE durch Creditreform Rating AG weitergeführt.
  • 14.04.2020
    Creditreform hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der Total S.A. mit AA- bestätigt. Der Ausblick wurde auf negativ gesetzt. Maßgeblich für diese Entscheidung sind die niedrigen Ölpreise zusammen mit den schwachen Raffineriemargen, sowie die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen der Coronavirus-Pandemie und die sich abzeichnende allgemeine Konjunkturabkühlung. Creditreform Rating bestätigt das AA- Rating, erwartet aber eine Verschlechterung der Finanzkennzahlen von Total, sollten diese Effekte von Dauer sein.
  • 15.11.2019
    Creditreform Rating hat ein unbeauftragtes Rating über die Total S.A. erstellt und auf AA- festgelegt. Der Ausblick ist stabil. Mit dem unbeauftragten Corporate Issuer Rating wird der Total S.A. eine sehr hohe Bonität attestiert. Maßgeblich für die Ratingeinschätzung ist die Größe des Unternehmens, seine stabile Marktposition, anhaltend positive Geschäftsentwicklung, solide Finanz- und Investitionspolitik sowie starke Liquidität. Die Unternehmenstätigkeit umfasst das upstream- und downstream-Geschäft und weist eine sehr gute geographische Diversifizierung auf, dabei befinden sich die Verarbeitungskapazitäten und die Distribution der Petrochemieprodukte zum Großteil in Europa. In den Geschäftsjahren 2018 und 2019 konnte Total S.A. ihre Produktion deutlich ausweiten, vor allem vor dem Hintergrund neuer Projekte im Bereich Exploration & Production, und dabei die Produktionskosten weiter zu optimieren. Das downstream-Geschäft mit den Bereichen Refining & Chemicals sowie Marketing & Services generiert zusätzliche Cash Flows und trägt dazu bei, die negativen Entwicklungen der Öl- und Gaspreise auszugleichen. Das Unternehmen bereitet sich auf die globale Energiewende vor und investiert vermehrt in neue Geschäftsfelder wie kohlenstoffarme Stromerzeugung, Energieeffizienzprojekte und insbesondere LNG.